Kenyans across the country cast their votes for various elective seats on Tuesday, August 9.

The voting ended peacefully and by the time of going to press, results for Members of the National Assembly and those of the county assembly had been announced.

Of the 47 Counties, only 45 participated in the elections for all six elective seats.

Mombasa and Kakamega counties, however, did not take part in the gubernatorial elections.

IEBC Chair Wafula Chebukati suspended the exercise after a mix-up in the ballot paper printing.

He said the ballot papers for the areas had thewrong images and details of the candidates.

After the completion of the voting exercise on Tuesday, the announcement of results for governor seats started on Thursday, August 11.

Here are some of the results received bythe Star.

West Pokot County
UDA party candidate Simon Kachapin won after bagging 86,476 votes. The incumbent governor John Lonyangapuo came in second with slightly over 84,610 votes.

Nandi County
Stephen Sang has retained his seat after garnering 237,045 votes.

The UDA candidate beat his opponent former Governor Cleophas Lagat who got 54,375 votes.

Busia County
ODM party retained the seat through Paul Otuoma who got 164,478. ANC candidate John Sakwa came in with 92,144 votes.

Migori County
Ochilo Ayacko of ODM won the seat with 175,226 votes. His DAP-K opponent John Pesa trailed with 126,171 votes.

Meru County
Kawira Mwangaza with an independent ticket has won the seat.She has defeated the incumbent Kirauti Murungi.

Vihiga County
Wilber Ottichilo of ODM Party has defended his seat with 82,313 votes.

Former governor Moses Akaranga emerged second with 42,432 votes

Homa Bay County
ODM’s Gladys Wanga won after garnering 244,559 votes. Evans Kidero came in second with 154,182 votes.

Kisumu County
ODM’s Anyang’ Nyong’o has won his seat

after he got 319,957 votes.

Second in the race was NDG’s Jack Ranguma who garnered 100,600 votes.

Uasin Gishu County
Jonathan Chelilim Bii alias Koti Moja has clinched the seat with 214,036 votes

Independent candidate Zedekiah Bundotich came in second with a vote count of 127,013.

Bomet County
Hilary Barchok has been re-elected as Governor after winning with 158,798 beating his main rival Isaac Rutto who garnered 137,323 votes.

By the star

Facebook Comments