Atleast 11 candidates shortlisted to represent parliamentarians in the selection panel that will oversee the recruitment of the chairperson and five commissioners of IEBC will be interviewed on Monday.

The Parliamentary Service Commission will conduct the interviews.

The  PSC is chaired by National Assembly Speaker Moses Wetang’ula.

Through a notice last week, Senate Clerk and PSC secretary Jeremiah Nyegenye invited the public to submit their views on the suitability of the candidates to serve on the panel.

Former Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission Commissioner Yusuf Nzibo and chairman of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators Wilfred Mutubwa are among 11 applicants expected to appear before the Commission.

Others include Lilian Gor, Gilbert Soi, Peter Mutuku, Novince Atieno, and Korir Kiprotich.

The law requires that PSC nominates two panellists that will select, interview and recruit electoral commissioners.

Three other institutions have nominated four persons to the IEBC selection panel.

The Political Parties Liaison Committee which brings together over 80 political parties has settled on its chairman James Misati.

The Law Society of Kenya has picked advocate Benson Ngugi Njeri of Igeria and Ngugi advocates.

They will sit in the panel that will interview five commissioners and the chairperson of the IEBC.

The panel will recruit the next IEBC chairperson to succeed Wafula Chebukati who retired after serving his mandatory term and commissioners Boya Molu and Yakub Guliye who also completed their tenure.

They will also replace three other commissioners, Juliana Cherera, Francis Wanderi and Justus Nyang’aya who resigned from office after President Willam Ruto suspended them.

Commissioner Irene Masit decided to go through the Aggrey Muchelule-led tribunal formed to investigate the IEBC commissioners.

Their positions were declared vacant by President Ruto in October 2022 ahead of their exit on January 17.

Sourced from the star

Facebook Comments