List of Counties to Be Split As The Number Increases

A parliamentary caucus consisting of 25 Members of Parliament (MPs) has put forth a proposal to extend the number of counties in Kenya from the current 47 to a total of 56.

This initiative aims to increase representation and decentralize governance further across the nation making it easy for some counties with fast areas to be represented well.

Among the counties to be splinted are Migori county, Wajir county, Nakuru county, Meru county, Embu county, Bungoma county, West Pokot county, and Busia County.

The 11 additional counties under consideration include Kuria, Teso, Mount Elgon, East Pokot, Mwingi, Gucha, Suba, Ijara, Nakuru West, Wajir South, and Nyambene.

These proposed divisions from existing counties seek to ensure more localized governance and services for the diverse regions of Kenya, reflecting the evolving needs and demographics of the country.

If the bill passes, changes in administration and the disyribution of resources will tale place.

Facebook Comments