President Uhuru Kenyatta has extended Covid-19 containment measures for another 60 days following advice from the National Emergency Recommendation Committee (NERC) on Wednesday, August 18.

Uhuru stated that the curfew hours in the territory of Kenya will continue to be observed from 10.00 pm to 4.00 am for another two months. This includes 13 Western region counties whose 7pm curfew was lifted.  These counties that were previously termed as Covid-19 hotspot zone of Kisumu, Siaya, Homa Bay, Migori, Busia Kakamega, Vihiga, Bungoma, Kisii, Nyamira, Kericho, Bomet, and Trans Nzoia.

The head of state suspended with immediate effect all physical in-person gatherings and meetings including political rallies for a period of 60 days.

ODM leader Raila Odinga arrives in Suna East, Migori County on Monday, August 1, 2021

ODM leader Raila Odinga arrives in Suna East, Migori County on Monday, August 1, 2021TWITTER

Additionally, the President announced that all social gatherings including weddings, funerals have been restricted to 100 people and that all of them should adhere to laid down procedures.

Furthermore, Uhuru directed that all burials should be held 96 hours after the confirmation of the death. Failure to which the government threatened to take appropriate action against management, staff, and premises who go against the directive.

Places of worship were also instructed to continue adhering to the one third (1/3) rule for in person worship and congregational worship according to guidelines issued by the Inter-Faith Council.

Bars, restaurants, and eateries were all instructed to continue adhering to the rules previously issued b the Ministry of Health led by CS Mutahi Kagwe.

Ruto (middle) at a Sunday mass at the St. Patrick’s Catholic Church in Kilifi North on July 18, 2021.


Facebook Comments