The voting exercise for the next Mombasa governor has started in many polling stations within Mombasa County.

Most polling stations opened on time at 6 am.The governor race has attracted seven candidates.

Abdulswamad Nassir of ODM and Hassan Omar of UDA are the front-runners in the race.

However, the region which has over 600,000 registered voters, is experiencing a low voter turnout.

In Nyali Constituency, which has 195 polling centres and over 124,000 registered voters, the polling stations remained deserted.

Maweni Primary School, which has over 5,000 registered voters, and Ziwa La Ng’ombe Primary that had over 7,000 registered voters had very few voters lined up to vote as of 7 am Monday.

Tumaini Primary School, also within Nyali constituency, is experiencing low voter turnout.

The same has been reported in the remaining five constituencies of Kisauni, Mvita, Likoni, Jomvu, and Changamwe.

Nassir is expected to cast his vote at Mvita Primary at around 9am, Omar will be casting his vote at Kandherboy Dispensary within Mvita also.

Outgoing governor Hassan Joho will be voting at Uwanja wa Mbuzi in Nyali.

By The Star

Facebook Comments