President William Ruto, through Cabinet Secretary Njuguna Ndung’u, took decisive action on Friday, May 19, by revoking the appointments of Victor Pratt and Reuben Ndegwa. Pratt is the brother in law to Uhuru Kenyatta.

These changes were made as part of a reshuffle within the Board of Directors of the Policyholders Compensation Fund.

In an official statement, CS Njuguna announced the appointment of Simon Mbugua as the new chairperson of the Board, replacing Pratt. Mbugua brings a wealth of experience to the position, having served as a former East Africa Legislative Assembly (EALA) Member of Parliament. He is also recognized as a close ally of President Ruto.

Mbugua’s political journey saw him emerge victorious in the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) primaries against Charles Njagua Kanyi during the 2022 General Election. However, in the subsequent parliamentary race for the Starehe constituency, he narrowly lost to Amos Mwago from the Jubilee Party.

Additionally, Njuguna appointed Tiberious Shikuku as a member of the Policyholders Compensation Fund. Shikuku’s appointment is set to last for a term of three years, commencing from Friday, May 19, 2023.

Facebook Comments