The Independent and Electoral Boundaries Commission (IEBC) on Thursday, June 2, announced the way forward over aspirants who had been blacklisted by the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC).

At a press briefing at the Bomas of Kenya, IEBC chairman Wafula Chebukati said the commission had received the report from EACC and shall retreat on Friday, June 3 to give a decision.

“We have received the report from EACC. The commission would retreat in the course of the day after this proceedings and look at the report. We shall look at it and make a statement in the course of tomorrow,” Chebukati told the press.

Among politicians who had been blacklisted by EACC include Murang’a Governor Mwangi Wa Iria, Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru, former Nairobi Governor Mike Sonko, former Nairobi Governor Evans Kidero,  Kapsaret MP Oscar Sudi among other leaders.

Governor Wa Iria, who who was gunning for the presidency, had already been blocked from vying with IEBC saying he did not meet the requirements.

The IEBC chair, however, said that the clearance of candidates was ongoing and the commission shall follow the law during the process.

“The clearance of candidates is ongoing and it is being done in accordance with the law. As a Commission, we shall follow the law to the latter,” he stated.

By Nairobi leo

Facebook Comments