Teachers receive a monthly house allowance from the Teachers Service Commission, (TSC). Only teachers who are working permanently and are eligible for a pension are given this stipend.

Teachers in Kenya under the TSC don’t get uniform allowances. They are paid according to their job group and workstation. It is also integral to remember that only pensionable and permanent teachers receive allowances from the Commission.

Teachers who work in the Nairobi region get the highest allowances than those plying their trade in remote areas. Additionally, teachers in a higher job group enjoy a bigger allowance than those in lower groups. Therefore, teachers are paid allowance based on ranks and job responsibilities, and the regions they work in

The TSC house allowance is one of the most common and is paid to all teachers monthly. The allowance abides by the standard criteria, which are the teacher’s job grade and workstation. The higher the job grade, the higher the house allowance.

However, this stipend is not paid at a fixed amount for teachers. The teacher’s job group and workstation are the two factors that determine how much of a house allowance is paid.  Over the years, teachers’ remuneration has undergone various upheavals based on prevalent collective bargaining agreements.

Most areas in Kenya, especially rural areas fall under other areas when it comes to TSC house allowances. However, other TSC perks by work category, including commuting allowance and leave allowance do not rely on the region one is teaching.

The Salaries and Remuneration Commission (SRC) has classed teachers’ workstations in the following ways:

The following areas are included in this list:

  1. Nairobi,
  2. Former Major Municipalities (Mombasa, Kisumu, Nakuru, Nyeri, Eldoret, Thika, Kisii, Malindi, and Kitale).
  3. Other Former Municipalities (Ruiru, Kikuyu, Kitui, Machakos, Mlolongo, Athi River, Vihiga, Wote, Mumias, Bomet, Limuru, Kericho,)

Facebook Comments